News Bhutan: BCCB Super League 2010, BTCL vs. Pung Dzong CC, 20 June 2010 Match no. 6

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 , Posted by D S Gurung at 2:53 PM

BCCB Super League 2010
BTCL vs. Pung Dzong CC, 20 June 2010 Match no. 6

BTCL won in D/L method

BTCL’s second victory came in D/L methods. Pung Dzong CC from Punakha lost against BTCL by 55 runs in Duckworth Lewis method when heavy rain interrupted the match at 24 overs of second innings when Pung Dzong was at 183 runs for 7 wickets down. BTCL won the toss and elected to bat. BTCL openers started with great shots and also maintained the run rate of 7 runs per over but the first wicket fell of well set batsmen Ugyen Dorji when he was at 16 runs was bowled in 6 overs of Guribqal.
Opener Ugyen Dorji 
BTCL lost their another wicket of Tenzin in 9 overs when the score was 68 runs, and then Thinley came and set a partnership of 46 runs with opener Tandin Wangchuk who also made his first 50 runs in 44 balls. Tandin was caught at cover when he tried to go for big six of Susil’s bowl. ”I still regret for bad shot I played and I will not make this mistake again” said Tandin Wangchuk.
Thinley with 65 runs                                    Tandin with 50 runs
In 19 overs BTCL lost 4 wickets for 121 runs and to keep runs ticking on the score board, Barun  was send  but felt to do it when he was trapped LBW decision of Susil’s flipper. Phuntsho Wangdi the captain of team who is having a great season of his life, again scored 87 runs of 68 balls and also builds a highest runs partnership of 160 with Thinley who also came up with half century in 37 overs (56 runs of 77 balls).
Phuntsho Wangdi with 87 runs 
“I am happy for the runs that I contributed but more than that the partnership with Tandin and Phuntsho which let my team score reached 322 runs was more special” said Thinley the wicket keeper batsmen.  Alagapa and Susil of Pung Dzong took 4 wickets each.

Alagapa                                                   Susil

There was a change in Pung Dzong batting order in second innings when Susil who batted at number 6 in the last match was send with Shamin to open. The first wicket fell of Susil when he was caught at mid-on by Tandin in Ugyen’s bowl and at that time team total runs was 18. Pung Dzong losing early wicket plus to chase target at 7.04 runs per over let Shamin inform batsmen accelerates his inning by batting aggressively smashing BTCL bowlers all over the park.
 Shamin with 55 runs
He scored 55 runs of 36 balls. Prakash and Guriqbal played a sensible batting which let their team total to 177 for 5 in 22 overs. Guriqbal became the second batsmen to smack fast fifty in just 18 balls. Guriqbal was so egger to trigger in each ball faced that he hammered both spinners of BTCL drastically to reach 57 runs from 22 balls.  He was caught at mid-on when Tandin came round the wicket to distract Guriqbal concentration and got Guriqbal wicket.  

 Guriqbal with fastest 50 in 18 balls

The rain started pouring in 22nd overs when Pung Dzong were 177 runs for 5 wickets down and the game was stopped at 24 overs when it started raining heavily. Within those 2 overs Pung Dzong lost another two quick wickets at 183 runs for 7 wickets in 24 overs. To resume the game was not possible due to wet  pitch, so the officials decided to go with the Duckworth Lewis method.
Umpire Dorji and Chencho keeping the standard
BTCL won the match by 55 runs and the Player of the match was awarded to Tandin Wangchuk for scoring 50 runs with 3 vital wickets taken. Pung Dzong will face Rigsum CC next week which will be the important match for both teams to battle for the seat in semi final.

Match Summary:
BTCL won the toss elected to bat first.
BTCL scored 322 runs in 48.3 overs
Pung Dzong CC scored 183 for 7 in 24 overs.
Rain stopped the match.
BTCL won by 55 runs in Duckworth Lewis method.
Man of the Match: Tandin Wangchuk of BTCL

Match official:
Umpires: Chencho & Dorji
Scorer: Deki & Sonam
Match Referee: DS Gurung

Currently have 0 comments: